top of page
  • Writer's pictureValeria Garcia

Que Viva La Santa

There’s something so powerful about the act of washing of the feet. In the Bible, Jesus washes the feet of his disciples reminding them to love others as he has loved them - what an expression of humility, service and love. I think this will always be one of my favorite passages.


I can think of some important moments in my life in which this ritual was a part of. One of the most beautiful moments was the welcoming reflection in Ecuador the former vols planned for us as we transitioned into the role of full time volunteers - placing the Monte Sinai community in our hands and hearts. And then of course, full circle, in July when it was our turn to welcome the new volunteers and do the same for them. My heart trembles with love at the memory of it; for the spirit of love that was weaving throughout in those moments is truly immeasurable. The beauty and love that the washing of the feet symbolize is overwhelming. “Can there be anything stronger than that?”, I tend to ask myself.


....


Lía Amelia, la pequeña guerrera de mi corazón. If you’ve read my previous blogs, you know a lot about her and my love for her. You know that she fought like a warrior against all odds and at such a young age and with such tiny body, she kicked ass. And despite the challenges and struggles that she continues to face today, she brings love alive in the places she’s in and revives love where it has turned numb.


....


Once during a retreat group reflection, my retreat group’s chaperone, Adam, said to me, “I believe in saints. And I believe saints are also found here on earth, walking between us. And you, Vale, are one of them.”


My eyes swell with humility as I recall his voice play in mind during reflection. At the time, I thought, “Wow, how beautiful. But oh no no, me? A saint on earth, no way. Mother Theresa, yes. Ordinary people like me? Not a chance.”


.....


One day, my community and I were taken aback when our neighbor Juana, Lia’s mom, said to us: “Ustedes son un grupo especial porque cada una de ustedes representa a una de mis hijas.” 

She went on to mention and explain the many true but mostly, hilarious similarities that she saw in us.


Jess was Karla.

Katie was Franchesca.

Lizzy was Daniela.

Mattie was Zuri.

And I was Lia. 


The reasons why, I’ll keep to ourselves and let you trust in the power of this woman’s words and not the details. But wow. What a humbling joy it was to be like Lia. 


....


I know all those were all over the place and you may be confused, but give me a moment, I promise my heart is going somewhere.

....


I write a little bit about all of this because these were the moments that came to my mind when I saw this image. 


Breathe in love, breathe out love.


...


I see this image and nod to myself. I nod to myself in awe because I think I get it now. Adam, I don’t know if you’ll ever read this, but I think I know what you meant when you said you believe in saints walking on earth.


For I will never be able to see myself through your eyes or understand how I would embody that, but I will have my own encounters with saints on this earth. And this little girl, who can’t even speak or fully walk on her own yet, is a saint on earth. For despite her littleness, I can already sense the revolution she will create when she begins to use her voice and feet.


....


Lia, your strength is a source of energy; your courage, a dose of bravery.


I believe your presence on this earth is sacred. I believe your life demands us to form community. I believe you and your essence ask us to love one another, deeply and fiercely, just as Jesus did.


And so as I continue to ask myself if there’s anything else that I can do to express my love for you, I tell you that not only will I wash and dry your chubby, little feet, but I will also kiss them - for my encounters with you were, have been, and will always be holy.


....


Feliz cumpleaños, Chiquita. Te mereces ser feliz y poder soñar. Eres y serás siempre una guerrera con un corazón elegido para alumbrar nuestros días más obscuros y pintar nuestro mundo de colores, tal y como el arcoíris.


Today, we celebrate your life. We celebrate your bravery. We celebrate your sacred presence. ¡Que viva la Santa! - quite literally. Ecuador lo sabe.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page