top of page
  • Writer's pictureValeria Garcia

Hand in Hand

Updated: Sep 18, 2019

Do you remember walking hand in hand with your mami and papi somewhere? The way you strutted down the street, without a fear in the world because no matter where you looked, they were right there – holding you, guiding you, and loving you.


It’s easy to feel as if those days are long gone considering I’m 23 years old and living under the equator – quite literally.


During my time here in Ecuador, I’ve come to learn that most of the times, things don’t always have to be seen the literal way. Thanks to the Monte Sinai community, I’ve learned to see life and make metaphors out of it. I’ve learned to live life, love life and imagine life in the most creative, yet authentic way.


With 6 months in, there has been a lot that has happened that I don’t think I will ever be able to convey. Yet, one of the most beautiful experiences since, has been welcoming my mami and papi to this very sacred space.


Maria Lara and Daniel Garcia were welcomed by loud and chaotic cheers at the airport from the 5 crazy chicas. They arrived in Monte Sinai on a hot and very dark, Tuesday night, straight into my favorite papipollo stand, which marked the beginning to our journey as a family here.

I’ll admit that at times, I struggle with feeling part of two worlds that as much as I try, feel impossible to intertwine... Welcoming my parents and seeing them interact with my neighbors was exactly what I needed to help feel as if those worlds were finally coming together, in at least, some ways.


Visiting Monica was one of our very first stops – and how could it not, when this woman has become like a second mother to me. Hearing the laughter that invaded her house filled every inch of my soul with that same, contagious and joyous spirit that both, Monica and my mother posses. In between all the conversation, tears and laughter, I like to imagine that having these two women sit beside me, sharing countless stories and carcajadas, in an almost synchronized way, was like hearing Our Mother Mary laugh in a beautifully gentle, yet energized melody.

Witnessing the tears at Gloria’s home the next day while she shared her life, her son, Raulito, and her fears with my family renewed my heart in ways that I didn’t even know I needed. The joy with which we were greeted was one of the best parts. It is she who reminds me that tears are sacred drops of love that purify our hearts in the most vulnerable way and I am grateful my family got to witness that.

Breaking bread at Juana’s nourished me in more ways than physically because for the first time ever, I got to break bread and share the table with my parents, brother and a neighbor’s family. Even after giving birth to a beautiful baby girl 6 days prior, Juana went out of her way to prepare a delicious meal for my parents – which proved to me the holiness found in her home, in which I had no doubt Christ was present, sitting there with us, among the baby crying, children yelling and sweat dripping down our faces, making room for the love that connects us all.

Dancing at Lida’s reminded me to live freely, with an optimism that drives you un poco loquita. Watching my parents dance with that same liberty and love to a cumbia was indeed like Henri Nouwen likes to describe his image of God, dancing cheek to cheek with Him.

Having my parents and Yesenia talk about their daughters – one who survived and one who didn’t, broke my heart open, but was put back together when I witnessed the beauty of these humans who have sacrificed so much for us. Sitting in silence and appreciating the tears as we remembered and honored Dianita was like one of my favorite songs says – no se si la iglesia subio o el cielo bajo, si se que esta lleno de angeles de Dios – unsure if the house had risen or if heaven had come down, but the place felt full with angels.

Bringing them to Casa and sharing the little humans who have made me fall in love and the women who have placed their heart in my hands, made it so clear that I am exactly where God has called me to live, to accompany and to love. The joy of welcoming visitors is unbelievable at the shelter and having the visitors be my papi y mami was even more astounding. Seeing my parents hold, embrace, and play with the kids that not only need, but crave love every day warmed my heart.

Having my community welcome my family with such open arms and hearts put the cherry on top. Hearing their voices pronounce, “tio” or “tia” showed me there was no barrier between us. The way they embraced them, the way they wanted to know more about them, it was all of us being in communion – even through the broken Spanish and English and what not.

You see, but besides all the love, the Spanish and the Latino culture, it wasn’t all that easy for my parents. I’m not sure what it was that struck them most – the quite obvious poverty and injustice that floods Monte Sinai or the fact that their little princess chose to live among it.


My parents as fieles y orgullosamente Mexicanos, have been part of a country that to some extent, looks, feels and sounds like here. They know what it is to live and grow up in Latin America. They have struggled, but they have worked very hard to give my brothers and me a better life, one in the United States, which eventually gave me the opportunity to be where I am today.


6 months ago, I broke my parents’ hearts to pieces when I told them I wanted to do a year of service in Ecuador. Today, all I hope is that I was able to put those pieces back together through our time together and show them, with names and faces, why I decided to live among the poverty, struggle, and injustice they fought so hard to get out of.


One thing I do know – the way they lived this week with me in such an authentic, intentional and loving way has filled me with an undeniable amount of faith, love and joy, which will for sure fuel me for the next part of my journey here.


It was so humbling to literally see my parents walk hand by hand with me – holding me, supporting me and loving me, even at 23 years old. After sharing my life with them here, there is no doubt in my mind that I can strut down the dusty roads of Monte Sinai, without a fear in the world because no matter where I turn, God is with me and so are they – and they made sure to let me know that through their love, their joy, their struggles and their fears.


154 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page